Oh, Well, That’s OK Then.

Yesterday, a young man called to me as I walked home.

There are a couple of choices I have when this happens:
1. Ignore it, walk faster. Usually they give up, and I am left feeling bad for being rude.
2. Give a brusque but as polite as possible reply in French, and keep moving. Moderate risk of the conversation continuing.
3. Smile and politely reply, pausing to see what is wanted: Guaranteed to continue to the conversation much longer than I want. Almost always ends in either a request for English lessons, a proposition for sex (would you like me to accompany you?), a request for a phone number, or a request for a job at the University.
4. Emergency situation: hail a taxi and quickly think of somewhere to go.

“Good afternoon!” I ignored him. “My sister!” I ignored him harder. “Sister [name here]!” Crap.
So I look over my shoulder, still walking. “Hello. I’m sorry, where do I know you from?”
“I have an uncle who works at the university.” Oh, so someone at the university is describing me to people. Super. “My English was not so good, but then I spent a few years in Australia.”
“Oh. Ok.”
“Where are you from?”
“The US.”
“Oh. Where in the US?”
“The Eastern part.”
“Where specifically?”
“Pennsylvania.”
“Oh. He told me you were from London.” White people tend to look the same. There is a pause. “Well, I can tell you are not feeling well… you are not feeling well, right?”
I explain why I’m totally brushing him off.
“Oh, yes, I see. The attitude is different from what you are used to since you are from Utah.” No comment.
There is a pause.
“Thank you for understanding, have a good evening,” I say.
He keeps following, and now I’m starting to think of how to shake him, because I’m near my house and would have to backtrack for a taxi.
“Oh, do not worry, I also agree with those values, because of my church. I am part of the church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints. Have you heard of them? Would you be interested in learning more?”

Oh, the relief. Not hitting on me, trying to convert me? That’s ok, then.

Leave a comment